BESA National Awards Judging Panel

Judges 2022

Judges are selected from major clients and industry figures and contribute valuable time and effort to work through entries, reviewing against strict criteria and attributing scores aimed at rewarding and recognising the very best of building services.

Check out our 2022 judges:


Nathan Wood, Chair of BESA's Health and Wellbeing Group and MD at Farmwood 

Nathan Wood is Managing Director of Farmwood M&E Ltd, Chairman of the BESA Health and Well-being in Buildings Group as well as Chair of the GCP Europe Indoor Environmental Quality Task Force. 

Nathan has wealth of knowledge across the building engineering sector, particularly ventilation & air quality, an advocate of clean air technology and straight talking

Kevin Morrisey, Engineering Manager, HE Simm

Kevin is a member of The BESA Technical Committee and has over 30 years’ experience of the building services engineering sector, working in operational, design and technical roles for several leading MEP contractors. His role at HE Simm is focussed on promoting engineering excellence at all stages of their projects.  

Jennifer Cox, Senior Engineer, Aecom 

Jennifer is an Electrical Engineer for AECOM and has worked across multiple sectors, she graduated with an MEng in Architectural Engineering and has recently gained her IEng ACIBSE Professional Membership. Jennifer is the CIBSE Graduate of the Year 2020 and WICE Best Women Engineer 2021 and committee member for CIBSE YEN London, CIBSE Patrons and the CIC 2050 Group.

Graeme Fox, Head of Technical, BESA

Graeme is a chartered engineer with over 30 years’ experience of building services engineering.  He has particular expertise in air conditioning, heat pumps, and small commercial refrigeration. He ran his own refrigeration and air conditioning contracting business for more than 25 years. He is a former President of AREA – the European association of refrigeration, air conditioning and heat pump contractors – and previously served as a member of BESA Council.

Claire Curran, Managing Director, Linaker and Vice President, BESA

As BESAs Vice President Claire is passionate about the industry as a whole with a particular fondness of the education and technical committees; keen to aid in shaping our industries technical standards and supporting engineers careers.

Day to day as Managing Director of Linaker a national specialist building services partner with over 29 years experience Claire has seen the business treble in size and achieved the accolade of on the top 5 fastest growing businesses in sector in 2020. Claire's love of team shines through

Alan Gregory, Director, Independent Air Quality Consultancy Services and Chair of BESA's Services and Facilities Specialist Group

Alan has a background of 25+ years in commercial & industrial contract cleaning. On approaching retirement Alan took up the Technical Managers position at Indepth Hygiene Services and set up a stand alone consultancy on all ventilation hygiene matters.

Alan has a passion for driving up standards in the duct cleaning industry. He is an active contributor to BESA Standards and Education, Membership Committees and serve as the Association as a Trustee.

Adrian Hurley, Managing Director, FP Hurley & Sons

Adrian is a business leader with a proven track record in all aspects of delivery. He became a Company Director in 1990, and was responsible for developing our Bristol branch into the successful office it is today. In 2017 he became Managing Director and now manages the company from its headquarters in Bridgend.


Ewen Rose, Marketing and Commination's Consultant, BESA

Ewen has previously edited Heating and Air Conditioning Journal and was editor in chief of H&V News. He founded McGowen Rose Associates in 1999 as a provider of specialist marketing and communications in the building services engineering sector.

Ewen is also secretary of BESA’s Health & Well-being in Buildings group. He is also the chair of the CIBSE Young Engineers’ Awards; a former vice chair of the CIBSE Patrons and the CIBSE/ASHRAE Group. He is also a trustee of the AG Manly charitable trust.