Monday, March 14, 2016


Presentation of this year’s North West Training Awards took place during the annual ball organised by the North West Region of the Building Engineering Services Association (the BESA) at the Imperial Hotel in Blackpool.

Presentations were made to ten employees of eight companies – as well as to Reanna Evans of national contractor N G Bailey, who received the Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Achievement.

The Employer’s Award for Commitment to Training was won by Sodexo, Salford, Manchester.

The other winners were as follows.

H&V Installer of the Year: Bradley Taylor of Balfour Beatty Engineering Services, Cheadle, Cheshire.

H&V Craftsperson Fitter/Welder of the Year: Sam Parr of Kimpton Energy Solutions, Birkenhead, Wirral.

Service and Maintenance Engineer of the Year (Level 2): George Eastwood of Lewis Facilities, Oldham, Lancs.

Service and Maintenance Engineer of the Year (Level 3): Martin Heyes of Futureserv, Manchester.

Electrician of the Year: Stephen Gilchrist of Sodexo (runner up: Daniel Burke, also of Sodexo).

Air Conditioning Engineer of the Year (Level 3): Ryan Unwin of Bruntwood Management Services, Manchester.

Engineering Technician of the Year: Calum Martin of Laing O’Rourke, Manchester (runner-up:
Deacon Monks of End Systems, Leigh, Lancs).

Incorporated Engineer of the Year: Stephen Kelly of End Systems, Leigh, Lancs.

In presenting the awards, BESA president Jim Marner pointed out that, as a former chairman of the region, he was well aware of its long-standing commitment to vocational education and training.

“The awards that have been presented this evening prove that your commitment has not wavered in spite of the tough times we’ve all had to cope with in recent years – and I trust that you are reaping the benefits of your investment now that things have taken a turn for the better,” said Mr Marner.



Picture Caption:

The North West Training Awards line-up comprises: (back row, left to right) Daniel Burke, Stephen Gilchrist, BESA membership director Richard Ward, Reanna Evans, Ryan Unwin, Calum Martin
and Deacon Monks; (front row, left to right) George Eastwood, Bradley Taylor, Martin Heyes, Stephen Kelly and Sam Parr.


Notes to Editors:

Further information from Ewen Rose on 07931 519044 (

Share this post