Thursday, June 2, 2016


Presentation of awards to four of the industry’s most talented young people took place at the luncheon which followed this year’s annual general meetings of the specialist groups of the Building Engineering Services Association (the BESA).

Joseph Seed of Hargreaves Ductwork, Bury, Lancs, was named Harry Hobbs Ductwork Trainee of the Year.

Nathan Trowman – of Hydro Mechanical Services, Sutton Coldfield, Warwickshire – secured the Craft Trainee of the Year Award, which is sponsored by the association’s Heating and Plumbing
Services Group.

The Award for Excellence in refrigeration and air conditioning – presented in memory of Harry Decker – went to Ryan Unwin of Bruntwood Management Services, based in Manchester.

The Service and Facilities Group’s Richard Bostel Service Technician of the Year Award was won by George Eastwood of Lewis Facilities, Oldham, Lancs.

The awards were presented by television journalist and presenter Gavin Hewitt, guest speaker at the event, which took place at Trinity House in the City of London.

During the annual general meetings, Guiseppe Borgese of Bouygues E&S FM UK was elected chairman of the Service and Facilities Group (SFG); Roy Littleford of Jarvis Heating was elected chairman of the Heating and Plumbing Services (HAPS) Group; and Andy Brewer was elected chairman of the Refrigeration, Air Conditioning and Heat Pump (RACHP) Group. Tim Hopkinson was re-elected chairman of the Ductwork Group (DWG) for a second year.

In his keynote address, BESA president Jim Marner reminded his audience of the central role the four specialist groups play in the life and work of the association – an importance that is underlined by the fact that more than 70% of BESA members enjoy at least one group affiliation. And he went on to highlight the groups’ most notable recent initiatives, which include:

– the compilation by the DWG of a new edition of its bestselling Specification for Kitchen    

– the continuing commitment of the SFG to the development of its successful SFG20   
   maintenance specification, and to the sec ond Building Services Summit, which it
   will stage in the autumn in partnership with a range of sister organisations;

– the enthusiastic participation of the RACHP Group in the ongoing environmental
   debate, and its dedication to the maintenance of professional standards;

– and the efforts being made by the HAPS Group to broaden its scope into the
   commercial sector, and to continue its support for the Government-endorsed
   TrustMark register of reliable tradespeople.


“To the individuals involved in taking forward these and many other initiatives, I offer my sincere thanks on behalf of the association as a whole,” the president concluded.

Pictured during the Trinity House event are the chairmen of BESA’s four specialist groups (left to right): Giuseppe Borgese (SFG); Andy Brewer (RACHPG); Tim Hopkinson (DWG); and Roy Littleford (HAPSG).

Share this post